Interview mit Esben and the Witch

Veröffentlicht: 25. Juni 2017 von guidowein in Interview, Veranstaltungen
Schlagwörter:, , , , ,

nodogteeDie britische Indie-Alternativ Band Esben and the Witch um Rachel Davies (Gesang,Bass), Thomas Fisher (Gitarre), und Daniel Copeman (Schlagzeug, Electronics – Gitarre) gründete sich 2008 in Brighton/England. Ihren selbsternannten „Nightmare Pop“ werden sie nunmehr auch am 01.07.2017 auf dem Owls`n` Bats Festival zelebrieren. Lasst Euch und uns mit diesem tollen Interview der drei Künstler darauf einstimmen.
Have much fun while reading.

Independent Sounds:
Welcome Rachel, Daniel and Thomas
to the interview. Nice that you have found for us and our readers some time to answer a few questions!

Independent Sounds:
How are you now?

Esben and the Witch:
Very well thank you. Ready to answer some questions.

INS:
How would you describe your music?
EatW:
I’d describe it as atmospheric rock music with some electronic elements and heavy outbursts. Its quite dynamic, we’ve always been interested in balancing the delicate and gentle alongside the furious and frenzied. When we started out the electronic components were very much at the forefront, over the years we’ve stripped everything back a lot and introduced live drums.
What´s the special of the Band?
The three of us get on very well. We have been playing together for quite a long time now and over the years we have figured out each others ways of doing things. I mean, its always a work in progress, but I think we’ve got quite a good thing going on in that regard.

INS:
What would you like to achieve with your songs?
EatW:
The specifics depend on the song itself but we are always looking to imbue all the songs we write with genuine emotion. In doing so our hope is that we can explore whats going on in our own minds, exercise some kind of catharsis and at the end of all that, put out something that resonates with people, that they can connect with. I think that stands for everything we write.

INS:
Why did you start making music?
EatW:
I’ve never given it a great deal of thought to be honest, seemed a good way to express myself I suppose. I’d always written quite a bit when I was younger but never been especially musical. When I met Daniel I was slightly rudderless, I could play the guitar a little but I hadn’t thought much about making music with other people. He had some songs already written that gave me some structure and direction for which I will be eternally grateful. Then when Rachel joined us it just kind of clicked into place and a vision of the music we wanted to make emerged from the mist.

INS:
Which bands had an effect on your creativity?
EatW:
We take inspiration from all over, books, movies, paintings, poetry, the land etc etc. These are the things that move us to write and tend to directly influence the songs themselves as well as all our imagery that goes with that. As for other musicians and bands… I’d say Swans, for opening my eyes to the power of the live show, Godspeed you! Black Emperor for being a constant reminder of how emotional instruments can be and of course AFI for seeing me through my teenage years.

INS:
What kind of music you listen to at home, on the road or by doing sports?
EatW:
My favorite time to listen to music is when I’m walking. In the streets or the country, with my headphones on. So yeah, I listen to all kinds in that situation, depends on the setting.  When I’m listening on public transport or busy spaces I’ll take some drone or ambient like Grouper or Tim Hecker or something. In fact i’ve always enjoyed Bohren und der Club of Gore for this, because its so sparse it kind of weaves into the surroundings, the sirens and the noise all kind of bleeding into it.

INS:
This year you have already been on numerous stages.
But meanwhile you and your band members makes station on 01.07.2017 in Detmold at the Owls’n’Bats Festival. Did you ever hear of the great location in the Teutoburg forests at the feet of  the Hermann Monument? 

EatW:
No, I don’t know much about Detmold but we’re looking forward to spending a few days there and finding out!

INS:

A band has to pass many ups and downs. So, what was the absolute highlight in the past and what the bitter low-point?
EatW:
Absolute highlight, I’ll say Roadburn Festival because I have a short memory! But that really was an amazing moment for us, sometimes it just feels like all these things that make a good show all conspire at the same time. The atmosphere just felt right. As for bitter low-points, there have been a few…when an airline lost all our gear. Or maybe being sat in a US Border Crossing being cross-interviewed and interrogated, those were a long few hours. Or when a glass of wine got spilled over the drum machine during linecheck. Maybe that actually, at that time we were really heavily reliant on it and the ensuing show was…not our finest.

EATW_hires_WilliamvanderVoort-1(1)

INS:
Is there a special concert or festival at 2017 to you looking forward at most?
EatW:
I genuinely look forward to all our shows but if I had to pick just one out it would be Dark Bombastic Evening in Romania. I think because we’ve played before and know what to expect to a degree. Great vibe and an amazing, dedicated audience who seem to come from all over the world to this small festival. And this year there are lots of other things I want to see as well, Oranssi Pazuzu and Wolves In The Throne Room to name just two.  

INS:
Did you ever played before with one of the other bands of the Owls’n’Bats Festival?

EatW:
Until a few weeks ago, no, but we played with Sylvaine at Wave Gotik Treffen. Very much looking forward to sharing a stage with her again.

INS:
Wishes for the future? Which goals you have? What´s the next? Tour? Studio? Something completely different? Perhaps a new album after the brillant Longplayer “A New Nature” from 2014?
EatW:
We are working on a number of things at the moment. Nothing I can announce at the moment but a little bit of all the above! And in the meantime we have ‚Older Terrors‘ that came out last year that we are playing and touring at the moment.

INS:
What´s the first thought by reading this words?
EatW:
Music: Esben and the Witch

Childhood: Broken bones

Blockade: As in, obstacle? Myself. Haha.

Gig: Swans at KoKo in London

Home: Berlin

We are very pleased to see you Live on Stage at the Owls`n` Bats Festival in Detmold!
Thank you for your time.

Esben and the Witch Homepage
Esben and the Witch @ Facebook

Die Kommentarfunktion ist geschlossen.