Interview mit Sylvaine

Veröffentlicht: 21. Juni 2017 von guidowein in Allgemein

Sylvaine Logo black
Das norwegisch-französische Projekt Sylvaine um die charismatische Frontfrau Kathrine, ist seit 2013 mit ihrem alternativen Post – Rock, gepaart mit einfühlsamen- und emotionsgeladenen Klängen, mittlerweile ein fester Bestandteil der dunklen und metalischen Anti-Mainstream Szene. Unverwechselbar ist ihr Musikstil als auch Kathrines herrlich, wohlklingende als auch beklemmende Stimme. Herzzerreißende- und Alltagsthemen werden so gekonnt und meisterlich von Sylvaine in Szene gesetzt. Das gelingt dem Projekt ebenso hervorragend gut auf ihren Alben, als auch Live auf der Bühne. Lasst Euch von Sylvaine auf dem Owls`n` Bats Festival in eine andere Welt entführen und verführen, denn es gibt kaum einen besseren Ort, wo gerade diese durchdringenden Klänge der norwegisch-französischen Kombo, dem Zuschauer präsentiert werden könnte. Doch zuvor habt ihr die Gelegenheit Sylvaine alias Kathrine bei diesem sehr schönen Interview besser kennenzulernen. Viel Vergnügen beim schmökern.

Independent Sounds:
Who is behind Sylvaine ?
Sylvaine:
My name is Kathrine, I’m 26 years old and live between Oslo, Norway and Paris, France. Sylvaine is my solo project that I started in 2013 after deciding it was about time to form a band that would be “mine”, where I would be free to express whatever I needed to without any compromise in any sense.

INS:
How would you describe your music?
Sylvaine:
I usually leave it up to my listeners to describe it, as I’m not the biggest fan of labels or genre tags when it comes to music, but I can say that my music is built up of opposites; the duality between harsh and beautiful, darkness and light, melodic and distorted/heavy etc. It’s very emotional as a result of it being my “audio diary”, function as an outlet for all of the issues I struggle to deal with in my life.

INS:
What´s the special of the Band?
Sylvaine:
I guess I’m not the one to say what is special about Sylvaine, but I suppose each project has it’s unique meaning, it’s unique sound and message as a result of the individuals which make it come to life. Sylvaine is me, whatever that means.

INS:
What would you like to achieve with your songs?
Sylvaine:
As mentioned above, I use music to communicate issues within me that I’m not able to deal with in another way. Music becomes a sort of catharsis for me, a way to process every aspect of life, without offering a lasting solution I suppose. While putting my most honest emotions and sentiments into my music, I truly wish to be there for someone out there, to touch people and comfort them if they happen to feel the same. To have my music mean something to other individuals out there is the ultimate accomplishment I think.

IMG3 - Photo by Andy JuliaINS:
Why did you start with making music?
Sylvaine:
It is something I have needed in my life since I was about 14. I was into music ever since I was a young child, but in my teenage years, I discovered it could be a way for me to express things I find hard to put into words alone. My main source of inspiration when I create music is conflicts and emotions from within myself, that I struggle to put into words and to express in any other way. Like a lot of other artists, Sylvaine functions as a cathartic, “audio-diary”, allowing me to explore issues and put them into something tangible. A cleansing process of sorts and a way to deal with life is what music is to me.

INS:
Which bands have had an effect on your creativity?
Sylvaine:
There’s been so many wonderful bands and artist that have inspired me along the way. Just like any other artist, the music I love inspires me, but at the same time I try not to draw too much direct inspiration from these artist. I want to create my own sound. In general, I’ll listen to any music in any genre that touches me somehow. It’s important to always stay open-minded when it comes to art. I love stuff from the post-punk/dreampop/new wave/shoegaze scene and the old goth/darkwave scene, as well as the black metal scene, the grunge scene and the newer post rock/post metal scenes. As for actual bands that have inspired me thru the years I could quickly mention Type O Negative, The Chameleons, Hammock, Alcest, Bathroy, Dead Can Dance, Slowdive, 40 Watt Sun, Cocteau Twins, Depeche Mode, Warning, Burzum, The Cure, Mono, Chelsea Wolfe, Low, scarling etc. I think the band that really opened my eyes to what I found to me my own expression, was Type O Negative though. They have been a super important band to me, and I’ll forever be heartbroken not to have seen them live before Peter Steele passed away.

INS:
What kind of music you listen to at home, on the road or by doing sports?
Sylvaine:
I love all kinds of different music to be honest, everything from classical to hip-hop, to black metal and folk music. I try to always be very open-minded when it comes to music and think that pretty much any genre can speak to me as long as I find something within the music that touches me on a personal level. I do tend to like more emotional styles of music though since quite a few years, such as shoegaze, dreampop, grunge, atmospheric metal, post-rock, doom, darkwave, new wave, post-punk and so forth. I already mentioned some of my favorite bands in the question above.

INS:
Wishes for the future? Which goals you have? What´s the next? Tour? Studio? Something completely different?
Sylvaine:
We all have goals for the future I suppose, but I’m really trying to live in the present moment and enjoy what I already have, instead of only longing for future endeavors. That being said, I will continue to work for the success of my project Sylvaine, as it’s always been my dream to live from my passion. In August I will enter the studio again, to start the recording of my third album and then in October we are scheduled to do a European tour with the German band Harakiri For The Sky and the Italian band Shores of Null. That will be a wonderful experience! As soon as we are back from the tour, I will mix and master my third album and then start thinking of all of the visual aspects of the album. It’s always an exciting time!

IMG4 - Photo by Andy Julia2

 


INS:
A band has to pass many ups and downs. So what was the absolutely highlight in the past and what the bitter low-point?
Sylvaine:
Oh, I wouldn’t say I had any bitterness or any big low-points so far with Sylvaine to be honest. I consider myself very lucky with the direction of my project so far and have had mostly positive experiences. I guess the most negative thing I have experienced thru the lifespan of Sylvaine is the crippling self-doubt I struggle with on a regular basis. This is nothing new though, and I start to know how to deal with it and know it just arises in certain periods. There’s a lot of pressure that comes along with choosing to make a solo project and being a sensitive person, sometimes I get a bit overwhelmed to be honest. That being said though, I couldn’t be more happy with my choice. To see something I have created touch people around the globe is priceless and one of the most beautiful things I’m lucky enough to experience thanks to Sylvaine.

INS:
How important it is to be playing live for you?

Sylvaine:
Playing live is for me one of my favorite things to do in this life, in addition to creating music. Having such an intense, but intimate moment with the people you have in your audience, watching your music affect them directly in front of your eyes, as you try to communicate a message to them is just incredible. It’s such a gift and a privilege to be able to play live shows and I hope we’ll be able to continue with that for a long time. It’s truly a unique experience.

INS:
Sylvaine will playing at
01.July 2017 in Detmold at the brilliant Owls’n’Bats Festival. Did you ever hear of the great location in the Teutoburg forests at the feet of the Hermann Monument?
Syvaine:
I did indeed, as my live guitar player Franck played there with his band Saigon Blue Rain last year. I remember checking the festival out when they announced their show and thinking it seem like a special event, made with passion and true love for music. This year we are lucky enough to be a part of it with Sylvaine and I can speak on behalf of all 4 live members when I say it will be an absolute pleasure for us to be there with all of you!

INS:
Did you ever played before with one of the other bands of the Owls’n’Bats Festival?
Sylvaine:
Yes, we had the honor of supporting Esben And The Witch at this year’s edition of the wonderful festival Wave Gotik Treffen in Leipzig, Germany. Their show this evening was just insane… I was so impressed and very excited to know we’d be playing with them again at the Owls’n’Bats in less than a month! Can’t wait!

INS:
What´s the first thought by reading this words?

Music:
Sylvaine:
A necessity of life, a profound art form that effects everyone in a more profound way then I think people realize.

Childhood:
Sylvaine:
A beautiful part of life, probably the most important one too, when you still are in touch with what came before and what comes after this life on earth. Innocence still reins, you’re open-minded to the world, not yet influenced by society or tainted by it.

Gig:
Sylvaine:
A powerful moment in time, shared between humans, in a language that is beyond just words.

Home:
Sylvaine:
Love, nature, somewhere beyond.

Many thanks for this brillant and meaningful Interviews!

Homepage von Sylvaine
Sylvaine auf Facebook

Die Kommentarfunktion ist geschlossen.