Interview mit Then Comes Silence

Veröffentlicht: 19. Juni 2016 von guidowein in Fundgrube, Interview
Schlagwörter:, , , , , , ,

TCS bengii med logga

Wir hatten die Gelegenheit mit Then Comes Silence im Rahmen des Owls’n’Bats Festival ein interessantes und spannendes Interview zu führen. Wer auf raue und düstere Klänge steht, wird bei diesen vier Stockholmer Jungs sicherlich nicht enttäuscht werden. Sie sind schon lange aus dem Schatten des Geheimtipps herausgetreten und überzeugen bei ihren Live-Auftritten durch ihre gradlinige Professionalität und bringen ihre Botschaften authentisch an die Frau und an den Mann. Erfahrt hier mehr über ihre Zukunftspläne!

We had the opportunity to meet Then Comes Silence  for an interesting and exciting interview. If you like rough and gritty sounds, you will surely not be disappointed with these four guys from Stockholm. They have long stepped forward and persuade at your live performances by their straightforward professionalism from the shadows of the secrets and bring their messages authentic to the woman and the man. Learn more about their plans for the future!

Who is behind Then Comes Silence?
I started the band in 2011 and I’ve been the sole songwriter since then. We became a four piece shortly after I had written about seven or eight songs. When there were enough songs for an album we got picked by the label Novoton and started recording immediately.
We’ve had some change of members. except for me, Seth and Jens there’s a new ace in the team now, Jonas on drums.

How would you describe your music?
Something known, but yet, like nothing you’ve heard before.

What´s the special of the Band?
We don’t sound Swedish. We’ve heard that one a few times.
Then Comes Silence are a very productive team and we have a lot more to give and to carry out.On stage we don’t use any backing tracks. Nothing digital thou the sound is a bit „synth“ sometimes. It’s a good old fashioned combo line-up, two guitars, bass and drums. And of course, we bring all different influences into the band. We are not hardcore goths.

What would you like to achieve with your songs?
We don’t have a strategy. We have no special plan except for making good songs.

Why did you start with making music?
I don’t know. I’ve loved music since I was a kid. My mother got me when she was very young. I guess her taste in music and her youthful mind made an impression on me. I was a big The Kinks fan as a six year old boy. I’m good at imitating the music that I like. That’s probably how I learned to write songs.

TCS nyctophilian photo Andreas Karperyd 1Which bands have had an effect on your creativity?
Oh my. The list is long. About a thousand artists long.
I have many gods. I grew up worshiping The Dead Kennedys, The Doors, Kraftwerk, Killing Joke, Ramones and early AC/DC. Bon Scott was an icon. In the late teens and early twenties I continued with The Cure, Siouxsie, Bowie, Magazine, The Pixies and The Screaming Blue Messiahs. I even had a short period listening only to Mambo, Cumbia and 60’s New york Boogaloo.

What kind of music you listen to at home, on the road or by doing sports?
I mostly listen to classical composers like Beethoven and Dvorak. There’s not a single day without a heavy pompous overture. I’m also a loyal Wendy Carlos fan. She’s my new icon.

Wishes for the future? Which goals you have? What´s the next? Tour? Studio? Something completly different?
We will start working on the next album this coming summer. The goal is to make everything better and better. This time we will invite a producer to take care of the whole thing. It’s been a DYI project for a long time. Why not try something different? If I’d produce the next album again it would probably sound exactly like our last album „Nyctophilian“. Nothing wrong with that, but why make it the same again?

A band has to pass many ups and downs. So what was the absolutly highlight in the past and what the bitter low-point?
We’ve had some really nice highlights on tour. The Roskilde Festival in 2013 was fun. That gig wasn’t one of our top 40, but it helped the band shaping up a bit and to take a step forward. The lesser good ones we have allready forgotten.

What´s the first thought by reading this words?
Music:
Relief
Childhood: Magic
Blockade: ?
Gig: Next one
Home: Stockholm

Die Kommentarfunktion ist geschlossen.