Fundstück der Woche: Winter Severity Index

Veröffentlicht: 1. Juli 2015 von steffischaaf in Fundgrube, Interview
Schlagwörter:, , , , ,

WINTER-SEVERITY-INDEX-LOGOMit italienischem Cold Wave werden Winter Severity Index am Samstag in Detmold beim Owls ’n‘ Bats Festival zu Gast sein. Die Band gründete sich 2009 und fand nun nach einigen Wechseln in Simona und Alessandra ein sympathisches und aufstrebendes Duo. Für euch haben wir Simona zum Interview gebeten.

Who is behind Winter Severity Index?
Winter Severity Index
is mostly my creation but during the years I had some travel buddies in this experience. Now we are a duo: me ( guitar, bass guitar, drum programming, voice) and Alessandra Romeo ( synths and keybaords). On stage we are with Giovanni Staccone on bass guitar. But some changes in the line-up are up to come…

How would you describe your music?
Our music mirrors our particular mood and taste of the moment and, of course, during the years, it reflected also the particular style of the members that alternated in the band . In the beginning the project had a more marked Post Punk connotation. Then Slanting Ray, our first LP, has a more melancholic mood, we developped a more complex sound and built more structured song compositions. Obviously in the future there will be other transformations.

What´s the special of the Band?
I can’t answer to this question, everyone can find something different in our music. We don’t care reaching a precise target or being classified with a specific connotation.

What would you like to achieve with your songs?
I mostly express the impression of the moment, what my personal thinking over leads me to feel in a certain period of my life. So the most important achievement is to recreate in music a certain mood and vision.

Why did you startet with making music?
I really don’t know. I play guitar since I was a teen-ager and keybaords and piano since I was a child. I always wanted to express myself in this way, maybe because I’m a very introspective person and I always found very hard to talk about what I really feel in a different way.

wintersevWhich bands had an effect on your creativity?
All the band we really loved in our life have a particular effect in our creativity, they formed our vocabulary and taste in music. We love so much New Wave and Post Punk that is impossible not to start from our favourite bands to create something that effectively talks about us. I can mention Cocteau Twins, The Danse Society, Joy Division, The Cure, the first albums by U2, For Against, Dead Can Dance and many others…

What kind of music you listen to at home, on the road or by doing sports?
It mostly depends on the moment. Usually I love listening to new stuff and discover New Wave bands from the 80′. But in this very moment I’m listening to a lot of old Kraut Rock too. No matter the circumstance, I always listen to music, from the morning to late night.

Wishes for the future? Which goals you have? What´s the next? Tour? Studio? Something completly different?
Our main goal for the next months is to record a new album. We are already working on it and we are very happy about the results.

A band has to pass many ups and downs. So what was the absolutly highlight in the past and what the bitter low-point?
I start from the bitter low-point, as it seems so far from here, even it happenes only a few years ago. The project started as a traditional band, we were four and we shared the first great experiences together as real friends. When the band splitted up in January 2012 I felt really devastated, even if some months later we rose up again as a duo with Valentina Fanigliulo on synths. Lots of good things happened since that day. At the moment the absolute highlight is the tour we had during 2014 and 2015 to promote our LP Slanting Ray across Europe. We really had great time, meet amazing people that are now among our dearest friends.

What´s the first thought by reading this words?
Music: Life
Childhood: Curiosity
Blockade: Disillusion
Gig: Cerimony
Home: Intimacy

Winter Severity Index Facebook-Seite

Kommentar verfassen

