Fundstück der Woche: Black Nail Cabaret

Veröffentlicht: 19. April 2015 von steffischaaf in Fundgrube
Schlagwörter:, , , , , ,

SONY DSCWer zuletzt die Camouflage-Tour live miterleben durfte, kam um den sympathischen und ausdrucksstarken Support Black Nail Cabaret nicht drum herum. 2008 gründete sich das Duo um Emese und Sophie und gewannen sicherlich ein paar Fans dazu. Uns haben die zwei überzeugen können und landen diese Woche in unserer Fundgrube.

Who is behind Black Nail Cabaret?
BNC: BNC consists of Emese Arvai-Illes (singer/songwriter) and Sophie Tarr (keyboards). However, there are lot of people who are working with us even though they don’t appear on stage: our producer and FOH engineer Krisztian Arvai who also co-wrote a few songs to our upcoming album, Josef Stapel is in charge for the design and website, just to name 2 of the greatest hard workers of our team.

How would you describe your music?
BNC: Synth Noir.

What´s special in the Band?
BNC: As a lovely fan said after one of our gigs during this tour: this sort of music comes usually from guys and now there are 2 girls on stage, which is cool.

What would you like to achieve with your songs?
BNC: We want to get under your skin. One way or the other.

Why did you start making music?
Sophie: my father and brother were also into music and they had their on bands, but they kind of gave it up to have a career in law. My father always reminds me how difficult it is to make music for living, but I dont really listen to him, this tour is the proof that its something worth doing.
Emese: I’ve always wanted to create something which doesn’t exist in that exact form, and I’m still looking for things that are giving new experience to me as well as to others. I remember the strong will I had to find my own voice and the very first steps of me creating melodies and structure. I’ve come a long way.

SONY DSCWhich bands had an effect on your creativity?
Sophie: Always different. But the core names are Brian Eno, Boards of Canada, Radiohead.
Emese: it’s changing constantly as I’m always hunting for new stuff. Recently I’ve been into the minimalism of Lebanon Hanover, Molly Nilsson, Tropic of Cancer, Arnaud Rebotini. Sqürl was also a great deal on my list.

What kind of music you listen to at home, on the road or by doing sports?
Emese:  as written above. I’m listening to music that affects me and it affects me because I’m listening to it.
Sophie: all sorts. I really like experimental music & minimal on the other hand I listen to lots of rock/grounge or even punk.

Wishes for the future? Which goals you have? What´s the next? Tour? Studio? Something completely different?
BNC: Play as many gigs as we can, organize an independent tour, finish a Hungarian EP then continue working on the 3rd album, things like that. And projects, projects, projects, as many as possible!

A band has to pass many ups and downs. So what was the absolutely highlight in the past and what the bitter low-point?
BNC: We are going through a peak now, as we’ve never had a tour outside Hungary before. Lot of people are getting to know us and the pre-sale of the album is doing really well! The lowest point was when Emese and Krisztian moved to London, that almost meant the end of BNC, but we managed to bridge the gap.

SONY DSCWhat´s the first thought by reading these words?
Music: Sophie: Everything
Emese: Time
Childhood: Sophie: tejbegriz (Hungarian dish with semolina cooked in milk)
Emese: rust
Blockade: Sophie: my own demons
Emese: stress
Gig: Sophie: adrenaline
Emese: achievement
Home: Sophie: aunt Erzsi
Emese: nice pillow

Black Nail Cabaret Facebook-Seite

Kommentar verfassen

